Bathurst is the largest centre (approx. 60km) from Neville. You can travel to Bathurst and take the Mid Western Highway to Blayney then along Hobbys Yards Road to Barry, taking the Barry Neville Road to reach Neville. Another other option is to take the Mid Western Highway from Bathurst or Cowra and at Mandurama travel the Mandurama Neville road for about 16km.
Nearby is the Neville State Pine Forest and Mount Macquarie - providing a picturesque view of Neville from its peak. 4WD, camping and bushwalking are allowed in the State forests.
In the beginning the village was known by different names.
The first developments in the area were as early as the 1850s and in 1885 the original settlement was called Macquarie and known as Mount Macquarie. In 1888 'Neville' became the official name.
There are still several buildings dating back to the time when the township was known as Mount Macquarie. The Neville School built in 1858, Presbyterian Church (1866), Post office (1870), Anglican Church (1875), The school of arts (1890), Catholic Church (1897.)
The original Neville Hotel was destroyed by fire and the current Hotel was built around 1910.